Banner image


Adam Baker


Posted Tuesday, April 3rd 2018

Reid named in EFL Championship Team of the Year

Bobby Reid has been named in the EFL Championship Team of the Year, as chosen by the division’s managers.

The Bristol-born striker is currently one goal behind Matej Vydra in the race for the division’s golden boot and his sparkling form in 2017/18 has now been rewarded.

Reid is the sole City representative in the XI, with Wolves and Fulham both providing three players. Aston Villa have two in the team, including former City winger Albert Adomah, while Derby County and Norwich City complete the line-up.

Cottagers pair Tom Cairney and Ryan Sessegnon find themselves up against Wolves’ Ruben Neves for the overall EFL Championship Player of the Year award.

All 72 EFL managers were invited to vote for their players of the season, with votes also compiled for the Championship, League One and League Two Teams of the Season. The overall EFL Team of the Season will be announced at the EFL Awards on Sunday, April 15th at Hilton Hotel, Park Lane.


John Ruddy (Wolves)
Ryan Fredericks (Fulham)
Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham)
Conor Coady (Wolves)
John Terry (Aston Villa)
Tom Cairney (Fulham)
Ruben Neves (Wolves)
James Maddison (Norwich City)
Bobby Reid (Bristol City)
Albert Adomah (Aston Villa)
Matej Vydra (Derby County)

Manager: Neil Warnock (Cardiff City)