Banner image


Adam Baker


Posted Sunday, January 14th 2018

Loan Watch: Golbourne out for the season

Scott Golbourne requires hip surgery and will miss the remainder of the 2017/18 campaign.

The City defender has made 21 appearances for MK Dons on loan this season, with his temporary spell due to expire in the coming days.

However, Dons boss Robbie Neilson revealed after his side’s goalless draw with derby rivals AFC Wimbledon that Golbourne is set to go under the knife.

Golbourne is thought to miss up to three months of action, meaning his campaign is all but over already.


Jonny Smith fired the opener for AFC Fylde in their 2-1 win over Guiseley AFC on Saturday.

Joe Morrell was named Man of the Match in Cheltenham Town’s 2-0 defeat at home to Accrington Stanley. Taylor Moore also featured for 67 minutes in the same game.

Newport County continued their recent good form with a 2-1 win at Grimsby Town, with Shawn McCoulsky a late replacement in the fixture.

George Dowling completed 90 minutes for Torquay United as they slipped to a narrow 2-1 home defeat to Eastleigh.

In the FA Trophy, Harvey Smith and Ash Harper both featured in Weston-super-Mare’s 1-1 draw with Workington. Cameron Pring featured for Hereford in the same competition, losing 1-0 at Wealdstone.

Bath City enjoyed a 1-1 draw away at Chelmsford City as James Morton enjoyed another run out, but there was defeat for Max O'Leary's Solihull Moors, who went out of the FA Trophy at Spennymoor Town.

Cribbs FC, where Lochlan Robertson and Josh Mortimore are currently on loan, enjoyed a 2-0 victory over Wells City.

Elsewhere, Denis Begovic’s Paulton Rovers were beaten 1-0 at Evesham.


Scott Golbourne (MK Dons)
Diego De Girolamo (Chesterfield)
Taylor Moore (Cheltenham Town)
Joe Morrell (Cheltenham Town)
Shawn McCoulsky (Newport County)
George Dowling (Torquay United)
Jonny Smith (AFC Fylde)
Harvey Smith (Weston-super-Mare)
Ashley Harper (Weston-super-Mare)
Max O'Leary (Solihull Moors)
Lochlan Robertson (Cribbs FC)
Josh Mortimore (Cribbs FC)
James Morton (Bath City)
Cameron Pring (Hereford FC)
Denis Begovic (Paulton Rovers)