Banner image


James Crawley


Posted Friday, June 15th 2018

City to face Plymouth Argyle in cup

For the second season running, City will host Plymouth Argyle in the opening round of the Carabao Cup.

The tie with Derek Adams’ side  will be played at Ashton Gate, week commencing August 13th.

Lee Johnson’s squad ran out 5-0 winners against Argyle last season, which booked their place in the second round, thanks to goals from Nathan Baker, Jens Hegeler, Korey Smith, Freddie Hinds and Jamie Paterson.

They famously progressed into the semi-finals for the first time since 1989, knocking out Watford, Stoke City, Crystal Palace and Manchester United en route before they went head to head with eventual cup winners, Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City.

League One outfit Argyle narrowly missed out on the 2017/18 play-offs, despite a strong mid-season. City defender Zak Vyner played a part in that promotion push, going on to claim the club’s Young Player of the Season award.

For the 2018/19 campaign, any Carabao Cup ties which remain even after 90 minutes will go immediately to penalties, the EFL has ruled, which puts an end to replays.

VAR will also be introduced for later ties at Premier League grounds, while the ABBA penalty system will revert to alternate spot-kicks.

The draw for the opening round of the cup was made live in Vietnam on Friday morning (June 15th).

Below is the first round draw in full:


  • Millwall v Gillingham
  • Portsmouth v AFC Wimbledon
  • Cheltenham Town v Colchester United
  • Yeovil Town v Aston Villa
  • Southend United v Brentford
  • Reading v Birmingham City
  • Wycombe Wanderers v Northampton Town
  • Swindon Town v Forest Green Rovers
  • Norwich City v Stevenage Town
  • Exeter City Ipswich Town
  • MK Dons v Charlton Athletic
  • West Bromwich Albion v Luton Town
  • Bristol Rovers v Crawley Town
  • Bristol City v Plymouth Argyle
  • Cambridge United v Newport County
  • QPR v Peterborough United
  • Oxford United v Coventry City.


  • Rotherham United v Wigan Athletic
  • Tranmere Rovers v Walsall
  • Crewe Alexandra v Fleetwood Town
  • Scunthorpe United v Doncaster Rovers
  • Macclesfield Town v Bradford City
  • Grimsby Town v Rochdale
  • Sheffield United v Hull City
  • Nottingham Forest v Bury
  • Middlesbrough v Notts County
  • Sunderland v Sheffield Wednesday
  • Leeds United v Bolton Wanderers
  • Carlisle United v Blackburn Rovers
  • Mansfield Town v Accrington Stanley
  • Port Vale v Lincoln City
  • Preston North End v Morecambe
  • Oldham Athletic v Derby County
  • Shrewsbury Town v Burton Albion
  • Blackpool v Barnsley