Banner image

City Return To Sheffield For Season Opener

Bristol City will enjoy a sense of déjà vu as their 2015/16 campaign begins in Sheffield – just as their double-winning 2014/15 season started.

However, following promotion to the Sky Bet Championship, Steve Cotterill’s side have swapped Bramall Lane for Hillsborough as a destination, with currently managerless Sheffield Wednesday lying in wait on Saturday, August 8th.

On a brand-new DESSO Grassmaster pitch, which is being laid at Hillsborough this summer to rectify long-running surface problems, City will be hoping for a similar result to their 2-1 success at Sheffield United as they began a League One title-winning campaign.

Brentford, beaten play-off semi-finalists from last season and under new management themselves, are the first team to visit Ashton Gate, arriving on Saturday, August 15th, quickly followed on a Tuesday night by Leeds United (August 18th). By then the brand new South Stand will be in full swing.

The longest journey of the season is reserved for August 22nd as City fans drive, train and fly to the Riverside Stadium for the clash with Middlesbrough.

Notably City have four Tuesday night away fixtures – at Preston North End (September 15th), Brighton & Hove Albion (October 20th), Derby County (December 15th) and Wolves (March 8th).

In comparison, Preston, Brighton, Derby and Wolves all have to visit Ashton Gate in midweek as well, in addition to Rotherham United (April 5th).

The Christmas period sees City host Charlton Athletic on Boxing Day before travelling to Burnley two days later (December 28th).

The New Year fixture will be at Reading on Saturday, January 2nd, quickly followed by the Emirates FA Cup third round.

The Severnside derby is, of course, back on the fixture schedule, with a trip to Cardiff City pencilled in for Saturday, October 24th and the return date at Ashton Gate set for Saturday, March 5th.

April appears extremely busy, mainly due to the international breaks that affect the Championship during September, October, November and March.

City travel to Hull City on April 2nd, before back-to-back home games against Yorkshire pair Rotherham United and Sheffield Wednesday.

After an away game at Brentford, City still have to squeeze in fixtures at home to Derby, away at Blackburn Rovers and then home to Huddersfield Town before the month is out.

On the final day of the campaign – Saturday, May 7th (12.30pm) – City will be away at QPR. 

Full fixture list:

Sat, Aug 08 - Sheffield Wednesday (A)
Tue, Aug 11 - Luton Town (A) CAP1
Sat, Aug 15 - Brentford (H)
Tue, Aug 18 - Leeds United (H)
Sat, Aug 22 - Middlesbrough (A)
Tue, Aug 25 - Capital One Cup R2
Sat, Aug 29 - Burnley (H)
Sat, Sep 12 - Birmingham City (A)
Tue, Sep 15 - Preston North End (A)
Sat, Sep 19 - Reading (H)
Tue, Sep 22 - Capital One Cup R3
Sat, Sep 26 - Ipswich Town (A)
Sat, Oct 03 - MK Dons (H)
Sat, Oct 17 - Nottingham Forest (H)
Tue, Oct 20 - Brighton & Hove Albion (A)
Sat, Oct 24 - Cardiff City (A)
Tue, Oct 27 - Capital One Cup R4
Sat, Oct 31 - Fulham (H)
Tue, Nov 03 - Wolves (H)
Sat, Nov 07 - Bolton Wanderers (A)
Sat, Nov 21 - Hull City (H)
Sat, Nov 28 - Rotherham United (A)
Tue, Dec 01 - Capital One Cup R5
Sat, Dec 05 - Blackburn Rovers (H)
Sat, Dec 12 - Huddersfield Town (A)
Tue, Dec 15 - Derby County (A)
Sat, Dec 19 - QPR (H)
Sat, Dec 26 - Charlton Athletic (H)
Mon, Dec 28 - Burnley (A)
Sat, Jan 02 - Reading (A)
Tue, Jan 05 - Capital One Cup SF1
Sat, Jan 09 - Emirates FA Cup R3
Tue, Jan 12 - Preston North End (H)
Sat, Jan 16 - Middlesbrough (H)
Sat, Jan 23 - Leeds United (A)
Tue, Jan 26 - Capital One Cup SF2
Sat, Jan 30 - Birmingham City (H) (EFAC4)
Sat, Feb 06 - Charlton Athletic (A)
Sat, Feb 13 - Ipswich Town (H)
Sat, Feb 20 - MK Dons (A) (EFAC5)
Tue, Feb 23 - Brighton & Hove Albion (H)
Sat, Feb 27 - Nottingham Forest (A)
Sun, Feb 28 - Capital One Cup Final
Sat, Mar 05 - Cardiff City (H)
Tue, Mar 08 - Wolves (A)
Sat, Mar 12 - Fulham (A) (EFAC6)
Sat, Mar 19 - Bolton Wanderers (H)
Sat, Apr 02 - Hull City (A)
Tue, Apr 05 - Rotherham United (H)
Sat, Apr 09 - Sheffield Wednesday (H)
Sat, Apr 16 - Brentford (A)
Tue, Apr 19 - Derby County (H)
Sat, Apr 23 - Blackburn Rovers (A) (EFACSF)
Sat, Apr 30 - Huddersfield Town (H)
Sat, May 07 - QPR (A) (12.15pm)
Sat, May 21 - Emirates FA Cup Final

Fixtures are subject to change. Compiled in association with Atos.

Related News

City Handed Luton Test

City Handed Luton Test

Posted: Tuesday, June 16th 2015

Ashton Gate Rebuild - Williams Stand Demolition Begins

Posted: Tuesday, June 16th 2015

Limited Season Tickets To Go Back On Sale

Limited Season Tickets To Go Back On Sale

Posted: Friday, June 12th 2015

Champions! Bristol City Promotion Diary On Sale

Champions! Bristol City Promotion Diary On Sale

Posted: Friday, May 29th 2015

Latest News

MansionBet Match Preview: Brentford (H)

MansionBet Match Preview: Brentford (H)

Posted: Friday, May 7th 2021

End of Season award winners revealed exclusively on Robins TV

End of Season award winners revealed exclusively on Robins TV

Posted: Friday, May 7th 2021

Robins Lotto winners week 5

Robins Lotto winners week 5

Posted: Friday, May 7th 2021

Match Preview: Brighton and Hove Albion vs Bristol City Women

Match Preview: Brighton and Hove Albion vs Bristol City Women

Posted: Friday, May 7th 2021

Also from Bristol Sport

LIVE! Bath Rugby vs Bristol Bears
Rugby icon

LIVE! Bath Rugby vs Bristol Bears

Follow all the action LIVE from the Recreation Ground as Bristol Bears face Bath Rugby in round 18 of the Gallagher Premiership.

Posted: Saturday, May 8th 2021 • Rugby

Match preview: Bath Rugby (a) - Gallagher Premiership
Rugby icon

Match preview: Bath Rugby (a) - Gallagher Premiership

Everything you need to know ahead of the round 18 Gallagher Premiership clash with Bath at The Rec.

Posted: Friday, May 7th 2021 • Rugby

Team news: Bath Rugby vs Bristol Bears
Rugby icon

Team news: Bath Rugby vs Bristol Bears

Semi Radradra returns to the starting line-up as Bristol Bears face Bath Rugby in the West Country derby on Saturday (4.30pm KO).

Posted: Friday, May 7th 2021 • Rugby

Team news: Wasps Ladies vs Bristol Bears Women
Rugby icon

Team news: Wasps Ladies vs Bristol Bears Women

Ella Lovibond and Georgia Newman are set to make their first starts for Bristol Bears Women in the Allianz Premier 15s season finale against Wasps (Saturday, 2pm KO).

Posted: Friday, May 7th 2021 • Rugby

Jake Kerr arrives on short-term deal
Rugby icon

Jake Kerr arrives on short-term deal

Jake Kerr has agreed a short-term deal with Bristol Bears with immediate effect.

Posted: Friday, May 7th 2021 • Rugby