Banner image

City drawn at home to Pilgrims

City will host Plymouth Argyle in the first round of this season's Carabao Cup competition.

The draw took place live from Bangkok, Thailand earlier today, celebrating the home of the competition’s title sponsor, Carabao Energy Drink.

It means Lee Johnson's side will meet the newly-promoted Sky Bet League One side at Ashton Gate in the week commencing Monday, August 7th.

City's head coach said: "Naturally we're pleased to have a home tie, but that doesn't mean it will be easy for us, especially against a team that tasted success last season.

"We'll prepare fully for the tie when it comes around, and we also look forward to the unveiling of the new fixture list next Wednesday as the build-up to 2017/18 continues."

The tie would naturally be played on Tuesday, August 8th, although the matter is confused by Bristol Rovers also being drawn at home in round one, which could mean one of the two Bristol clubs being required to switch to the Wednesday.

A confirmed date, plus ticketing information will be released in due course.

First Round Draw

Birmingham City v Crawley Town
Exeter City v Charlton Athletic
QPR v Northampton Town
Newport County v Southend United
Bristol City v Plymouth Argyle
Cardiff City v Portsmouth
Millwall v Stevenage
Oxford United v Cheltenham Town
AFC Wimbledon v Brentford
Norwich City v Swindon Town
Bristol Rovers v Cambridge United
Peterborough United v Barnet
Wycombe Wanderers v Fulham
Colchester United v Aston Villa
Wolves v Yeovil Town
Reading v Gillingham
Forest Green Rovers v MK Dons
Luton Town v Ipswich Town
Coventry City v Blackburn Rovers
Nottingham Forest v Shrewsbury Town
Bradford City v Doncaster Rovers
Mansfield Town v Rochdale
Grimsby Town v Derby County
Barnsley v Morecambe
Crewe Alexandra v Bolton Wanderers
Oldham Athletic v Burton Albion
Wigan Athletic v Blackpool
Bury v Sunderland
Sheffield Wednesday v Chesterfield
Accrington Stanley v Preston North End
Fleetwood Town v Carlisle United
Sheffield United v Walsall
Scunthorpe United v Notts County
Rotherham United v Lincoln City
Leeds United v Port Vale