Banner image


James Crawley


Posted Sunday, May 27th 2018

Bryan strike wins 2017/18 Goal of the Season

Congratulations go to Joe Bryan, whose strike against Manchester United has been voted the 2017/18 Goal of the Season.

The left-sided Academy graduate raced through on goal after latching on to a Marlon Pack pass. He leathered a first-time shot into the far corner to open the scoring in City's memorable Carabao Cup quarter-final tie back in December.

Bryan's Ashton Gate strike received a staggering 60 per cent of fans' votes. His goal in the earlier round of the cup versus Crystal Palace took second spot and Korey Smith's winner against Manchester United proved to be the third most-popular goal.


The nominations list in full was:

  • Freddie Hinds v Plymouth
  • Josh Brownhill v Brentford
  • Freddie Hinds v Watford
  • Joe Bryan v Crystal Palace
  • Callum O'Dowda v Crystal Palace
  • Josh Brownhill v Hull City
  • Jamie Paterson v Sheffield United
  • Joe Bryan v Manchester United
  • Korey Smith v Manchester United
  • Famara Diédhiou v Barnsley

Voting opened on Tuesday (May 22nd) and concluded on Friday morning.