Banner image

Big Match Preview: Watford away

City face Premier League opposition in the Carabao Cup second round, with a trip to Watford tonight (7.45pm).

Lee Johnson's side beat Plymouth Argyle 5-0 in the first round, but it is likely to be a much stiffer test at Vicarage Road this evening.

Here's a look at tonight's opponents.


Formed: 1881
Nickname: The Hornets
Twitter: @WatfordFC
Ground: Vicarage Road
Capacity: 21,438

Football League First Division runners-up 1982/83
Football League Championship runners-up 2014/15
Football League Championship play-off winners 1998/99, 2005/06
Football League Championship play-off runners-up 2012/13
Football League Second Division runners-up 1981/82
Football League Third Division champions 1968/69, 1997/98
Football League Third Division runners-up 1978/79
Football League Fourth Division champions 1977/78
Southern Football League champions 1914/15
Southern Football League runners-up 1919/20
FA Cup Runners-up 1983/84

Last season
League finish: 17th in the Premier League
FA Cup: Fourth round, lost to Millwall
EFL Cup: Second round, lost to Gillingham
Top scorer: Troy Deeney, ten goals
Player of the Year: Sebastian Prödl
Average attendance: 20,571


Now in their third consecutive season in the Premier League, the Hornets are beginning to establish themselves as a top-flight club.

In each campaign they have gone with a different man in charge, with Quique Sanchez Flores replaced by Walter Mazzarri, and now Marco Silva is at the helm.

An thrilling opening day 3-3 draw at home to Liverpool was followed up with an impressive 2-0 success at Bournemouth on Saturday.

Silva has promised to "respect" City with regards to his team selection.

Last season's top scorer Troy Deeney is tipped to come into the starting XI for his first appearance of the campaign.

Etienne Capoue and summer signing Will Hughes are also pushing for their first starts of the campaign.

Younes Kaboul, Daryl Janmaat, Roberto Pereyra, Tommie Hoban, Craig Cathcart and Mauro Zarate are out injured.


Marco Silva joined Watford after departing Hull City in the summer


Portuguese coach Silva has hit the ground running in English football.

After spells at Estoril and Sporting Lisbon, Silva went to Olympiacos, but quit just a year later despite winning the Greek title.

Hull appointed him to the helm in January 2017, replacing Mike Phelan, and the club were deep in the relegation mire.

Hull went on to reach the EFL Cup semi-finals and pulled off a string fine results - including four straight victories at home.

However, the task to survive was too tall and the Tigers were relegated in May.

He resigned shortly after and just two days later was handed a two-year deal at Watford.

Troy Deeney has top scored in two consecutive seasons in the Premier League


A club stalwart, Deeney has now made over 300 appearances for the Hornets since joining the club in 2010.

In that time he has scored 106 goals for the club, a healthy one-in-three ratio that any striker would be proud of.

He twice scored over 20 goals in the Championship, with the 2014/15 campaign seeing Watford finish runners-up and clinch a return to the Premier League.

Deeney managed 17 goals in all competitions during 2015/16, the joint-highest at Vicarage Road with Odion Ighalo.

Last season he scored another ten goals, this time to land the top scorer honour on his own.

Yet to feature this season following the capture of Andre Gray and Richarlison, Deeney could now be unleashed on City in the Carabao Cup.

Lee Miller scored the only goal to oust Watford in 2003


Miller 94

Lee Miller broke Watford's stubborn resistance early in extra time to take City into the third round of the League Cup.

City were after revenge at Ashton Gate, having been knocked out at the same stage by the Hornets two seasons earlier after throwing away a 2-0 lead to lose 3-2.

Watford were rattled and made two changes at the break, before substitute Micah Hyde then sustained an injury and limped off himself.

City pressed and pressed, but the tie went into extra time, only for Miller to rise highest in the box to head the winner just four minutes into the extra half hour.

It secured Danny Wilson's side a home tie with Premier League Southampton in the next stage, which proved a step too far with the visitors running out 3-0 winners.

City: Phillips, Butler, Carey (Fortune 89), Coles, Bell, Wilkshire, Tinnion (Matthews 90), Doherty (Hulbert 112), A.Brown, Roberts, Miller. Subs not used: Stowell, Lita.

Watford: Chamberlain, Doyley, Cox, Robinson, Dyche, Mahon, Devlin, Young (Cook 46), Frisken (Hyde 46 (Hand 58)), Dyer, Webber. Subs not used: Hitchcock, Fitzgerald.

Attendance: 5,213



Referee: Tim Robinson
Assistant Referees: Andrew Fox and Adam Crysell
Fourth Official: Alan Dale

Betting (via Sky Bet)
Watford 7/10
Draw 3/1
City 18/5

Latest News

🎥 Lansdown salutes supporters

🎥 Lansdown salutes supporters

Posted: Friday, June 24th 2022

🪶 The Robin has landed

🪶 The Robin has landed

Posted: Friday, June 24th 2022

📸 GALLERY: 'The Robin' kit

📸 GALLERY: 'The Robin' kit

Posted: Friday, June 24th 2022

🌟 5 years of Primary Stars

🌟 5 years of Primary Stars

Posted: Friday, June 24th 2022

Also from Bristol Sport

Elton John Sunday Concert: Latest Travel Information
Stadium icon

Elton John Sunday Concert: Latest Travel Information

Elton John plays at Ashton Gate tonight. See below for all your concert travel information to help get fans to and from the stadium.

Posted: Sunday, June 26th 2022 • Stadium

Turner debuts as Junior Boks overpower England U20
Rugby icon

Turner debuts as Junior Boks overpower England U20

Andrew Turner made his England U20 debut as Alan Dickens' side were beaten 22-30 by South Africa U20 in their Six Nations Summer Series opener in Verona.

Posted: Friday, June 24th 2022 • Rugby

Xledger cyclists raise £3,500 for Community Foundation
Rugby icon

Xledger cyclists raise £3,500 for Community Foundation

A team of riders from Xledger have raised £3,500 for the Community Foundation by cycling more than 350 miles in just five days.

Posted: Friday, June 24th 2022 • Rugby

Bears' Allianz Cup opponents confirmed
Rugby icon

Bears' Allianz Cup opponents confirmed

Bristol Bears will face Saracens, Loughborough Lightning, Wasps and Sale Sharks in Pool A of the 2022/23 Allianz Cup.

Posted: Thursday, June 23rd 2022 • Rugby

Turner set for England U20 debut against South Africa
Rugby icon

Turner set for England U20 debut against South Africa

Andrew Turner has named in the England U20 squad to face South Africa in the opening round of the Six Nations Under-20 Summer Series in Italy.

Posted: Thursday, June 23rd 2022 • Rugby