Banner image


Ed Lewis


Posted Thursday, May 10th 2018

2018/19 Championship taking shape

City already know 18 of their opponents in next season’s Sky Bet Championship.

While there are still promotions and relegations to be decided, the bulk of the division is already confirmed for 2018/19.

Stoke City's ten-year stay in the top-flight has come to an end, while West Brom have also dropped down from the Premier League. Meanwhile, Wigan Athletic and Blackburn Rovers have bounced back from League One at the first time of asking.

Five teams City won’t be facing next year are Wolves and Cardiff City – both promoted to the Premier League – plus Sunderland, Burton Albion and Barnsley, all of whom suffering relegation to League One.

Fulham, Aston Villa, Middlesbrough and Derby County will compete in the Championship play-offs, while in League One, one of Shrewsbury Town, Charlton Athletic, Rotherham United or Scunthorpe United will win a place in the Championship via the play-offs.

Swansea City need to secure maximum points against Stoke City on Sunday, overturn a goal difference of nine and Southampton must suffer a home defeat to Manchester City if they're to avoid the drop. 

City finished the 2017/18 Championship season in 11th place, their highest for eight years.


Birmingham City, Blackburn Rovers, Bolton Wanderers, Brentford, Bristol City, Hull City, Ipswich Town, Leeds United, Millwall, Norwich City, Nottingham Forest, Preston North End, QPR, Reading, Sheffield United, Sheffield Wednesday, Stoke City, West Brom, Wigan Athletic.


Two from: Swansea City and Southampton.


Three from: Fulham, Aston Villa, Middlesbrough and Derby County.


One from: Shrewsbury Town, Charlton Athletic, Rotherham United or Scunthorpe United.